Intrinsic Value Calculator?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hi,

I am new in Investing and is wondering if there is any online Intrinsic value calculator that I can use?

Any advice will be appreciated, thank you.
Hi kctan,

I would recommend that a manual approach for the computation of intrinsic value be used. Not really advisable to use an online tool IMHO

That being said, you could visit Damodaran's website. He offers a variety of DCF models that you could use.

However, it also depends on the company you are looking at, if you cannot make an accurate prediction of cashflow, DCF model would not be appropriate.
(06-11-2012, 11:01 PM)wcpk90 Wrote: Hi kctan,

I would recommend that a manual approach for the computation of intrinsic value be used. Not really advisable to use an online tool IMHO

That being said, you could visit Damodaran's website. He offers a variety of DCF models that you could use.

However, it also depends on the company you are looking at, if you cannot make an accurate prediction of cashflow, DCF model would not be appropriate.

Thank you so much, may I know what is the DCF model?
(06-11-2012, 11:01 PM)wcpk90 Wrote: Hi kctan,

On top of DCF model, one other way to compute intrinsic value is SOTP

DCF = Discounted Cash Flow
SOTP = Sum Of The Part

You can google both for more detail.
“夏则资皮,冬则资纱,旱则资船,水则资车” - 范蠡
Bruce Greenwald's book gives a good idea of how to valuate a business. You could look into it as well.
IMO, I will be wary of any instant magic formula which helps to calculate a decent intrinsic value of a company. If it's so easy, then we won't be seeing just one Warren Buffett. Joel Greenblatt does promote a certain form of magic formula but the focus was meant for a well-diversified portfolio with a passive approach. Even Ben Graham advocates the net-net screening. Again, that is based on a well-diversified portfolio.