How should you capitalize an acquisition and report your balance sheet??

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How should you capitalize an acquisition and report your balance sheet?

I am still learning some basic reading of balance sheet and came across something very strange. I hope to learn a thing or 2 from expert here.

This case study involved Pan United paying $100M for an acquisition and and capitalized it at only 30M. And wrote 70M as a "loss".
Is this correct? Who or what accounting rule decides they should capitalize at 30M or 100M? As I recall in accounting, they paid $100M, they should capitalize this on their balance sheet at $100M.

What are they thinking doing this.....
My guess is that
-the directors want to buy their own shares?
-They want to increase ROA/ROE performance?
-Avoid taxes?
- Some accounting rule requires them to do this ?

I really dunno. anyone can advice me what is going on?
Am I mis-understanding some accounting rules wrongly?

[Image: jTpq0cW.png]
For this specific case, my guess is because the target, CXP was already a subsidiary of PanUnited. As you can see from the press release, this transaction involved an increase in stake from 51.3% to 85.5%.

As CXP is a subsidiary and its valuation is already recorded on PanUnited's balance sheet, PanUnited has to take an impairment loss as the acquisition price is much higher than what it records on its books. This impairment is entirely an accounting loss. One can relatively infer that Mgt is relatively conservative on its books.

I am not well versed enough in accounting to know whether PanUnited can take the other option (ie. re-value its existing stake to book an accounting profit with the acqusition).
(25-02-2014, 06:59 PM)wahkao Wrote: This case study involved Pan United paying $100M for an acquisition and and capitalized it at only 30M. And wrote 70M as a "loss".