What is a value investor.

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Hi everyone,

I was just wondering what your definition of a value investor is and would you consider yourself one by your own definition.

Thank you!

Cheers

David.
A Story Selling Gum Told By A Value Investor

A number of years ago I was trying to explain to my son what I did for a living. He is 11 years old. I spoke about selling gum.

Jason, a boy in my son’s class, sold gum each day at school. He would buy a pack of gum for 25 cents and he would sell 5 sticks of gum for 25 cents each or $1.25 in total revenue for each pack he sells.

He sells 4 packs a day, 5 days a week, and 36 weeks in the school year or about $720 a year in pure profits. If he has 6 years until he graduates, that is about $4,320 in total profits he would make by the end of high school.

What if Jason offered to sell you half the business today? What would you pay?

My son replied, ―Well, he may only sell three packs a day so he would make $3000 a year. Would you pay $1,500 now? Why would I do that if I have to wait several years for the $1,500?

Would you pay a $1? Yes, of course! But not $1,500. I would pay $450 now to collect $1,500 over the next few years, which would be fair.

Now, you understand what I do for a living, I told my son.

I sit around trying to figure out what businesses are worth, and then I try to pay a lot less for them. I think you get the point.
(23-06-2013, 10:18 AM)davidsim Wrote: Hi everyone,

I was just wondering what your definition of a value investor is and would you consider yourself one by your own definition.

Thank you!

Cheers

David.

To buy into something because you think it is much cheaper that its value.

To NOT buy into something because the graph shows an upward momentum or because your friend, hairstylist, parents, taxi driver recommended it
In essence, the work of a value investor can be summed up in a sentence below:

Trying to buy something worth $1 using 80 cents or less.