Statement of Shareholders' Equity

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hi All,

I am a newbie here. Would appreciate could someone explain to me the item "Exchange Translation Reserve" in the Shareholders' Equity Statement.

I am currently looking into Drybulk Shipping company since they are in the down cycle now. I noticed that this company is trading below its book value.

But I noticed that under "Exchange Translation Reserve" for retained earning there is a minus factor there and it almost wiped out the whole year profit. This wiped out is a huge amount and I don't understand what is this accounted for.

Attached is a snapshot of the Annual Report. If someone can explain really appreciate. Thanks

Attached Files
.pdf   Question 1a - Shareholders Equity Statement MBC AR2011.pdf (Size: 57.42 KB / Downloads: 23)
(14-03-2013, 11:30 AM)sbanpjman8 Wrote: Hi All,

I am a newbie here. Would appreciate could someone explain to me the item "Exchange Translation Reserve" in the Shareholders' Equity Statement.

I am currently looking into Drybulk Shipping company since they are in the down cycle now. I noticed that this company is trading below its book value.

But I noticed that under "Exchange Translation Reserve" for retained earning there is a minus factor there and it almost wiped out the whole year profit. This wiped out is a huge amount and I don't understand what is this accounted for.

Attached is a snapshot of the Annual Report. If someone can explain really appreciate. Thanks

I know nothing about the company

Comprehensive income/loss due to exchange translation will be credit/debit to Exchange translation reserve. It should be a non-cash income/loss which may due to difference between reporting and operating currency, or substantial oversea operations.

To put into the context, it seems that the retained earning is mainly contributed by translation gain? The company profit is largely due to appreciation of RM over a currency, but don't know which one?